The Vampire who embraces a Sidhe/any fae is forever changed by Faery Blood. The Vampire gains a permanante derrangement- the Storyteller decides which one.
If the faery survives the embrace, banality is reset to 7, and she is overcome by the Mists. This will cause the changeling to forget themselves and everything since their chrysalis. Embraced changelings may temporarily regain these memories if enchanted.
To embrace a changeling is risky. For the vampire, see rules on drinking fae blood, multiple rolls must be made as so much blood is being ingested. For the changeling, roll perm banality pool against a diff of 10, at least 1 success must be achieved with no willpower roll allowed. Success means the changeling lives. Failure or botch means the changeling dies.
"Don't do it man! It won't be pretty..."
Vampires that sup on Changeling blood are Enchanted as long as that blood is in their system (last in-last out rule) and be afflicted with a randomly generated effect for the duration of the enchantment. (roll one die, and use the corresponding effect below, taken from Dark Ages) They must also make a Courage roll (difficulty: # of blood points taken +3) or enter Bedlam stage 2 and additionally gaining a temporary derangement related to the kith or its legacies. A botch on this roll puts them into stage 3 Bedlam and a permanent derangement to be determined by the Storytellers.
The exceptions are Gangrel, Kiasyd, Malkavians and Ravnos. Members of these clans get to reduce the amounts of enchantment and consequences by half... except in cases of Botching the roll or gaining a permanante derrangement.
Fencing: The Art of the
Ravnos do not know about the side effect of their power, and No Changeling would ever tell. However, the following is to satisfy the rules doctors among us. =)
Anything created with Chimestry is considered to be an Incidental Chimera, capable of doing Chimerical damage to any Changeling. Horrid Reality will only do Chimerical damage to Changelings, not perceived real. The problem that Changelings have with Chimestry, is that after the Vampire cancels the illusion, it continues to exist in the Dreaming. If it was an illusion of a sentient being, then it will be a sentient Chimera. The Chimera will generally last only a few days (ST's call) or until it encounters high levels of Banality.
The Dominate power of Possession is not as effective on changelings,
who are not truly mortal; if a changeling target achieves three successes
more than the vampire on the resisted roll, the attempt is broken. If
the changeling achieves five more successes, he becomes immune to Dominate
attempts from that vampire as if the vampire botched.
|Return to top of page.|
IBN Created: 31-October-03 Updated: 10 May, 2004